National Partnership Agreement On Implementing Water Reform In The Murray-Darling Basin

The Australian government is investing in the basin through the Sustainable Rural Water Use and Infrastructure Program (SRWUIP) and the Commonwealth On-Farm Further Irrigation Efficiency Program (COFFIE). The Australian Competition and Consumer Commission (ACCC) advises the Water Minister on water market rules and water pricing rules to free up trade and regulate the costs of monopoly infrastructure (for example. B access to irrigation systems), monitor and enforce these rules. SRWUIP is a national program that invests in the use, management and efficiency of rural waters, including improving water knowledge and market reforms. This is the key mechanism for bridging the gap with sustainable diversion boundaries and consists of three main elements: irrigation infrastructure projects; Water purchase and supply measures. As part of its AFN missions, each state in the basin has committed to implementing the agreement in accordance with the milestones set out in the agreement and to reporting milestones through an annual declaration of assurance. The National Water Commission was tasked with assessing the progress made by the basin states in 2013 and 2014. The National Water Commission (Abolition) Act 2015 annulled the National Water Commission in June 2015 and the assessment role was then transferred to the Ministry of Agriculture and Water Resources. The cooperation of the countries of the basin remains an integral part of successful water management and reform throughout the basin. We work closely with the countries of the basin through a number of committees to implement the basin plan.

The Productivity Commission conducts five annual studies each year on the effectiveness of the implementation of the basin plan and water resource plans – the first revision is scheduled for 2018. COFFIE is a program designed to help irrigation companies modernize their on-farm irrigation infrastructure and reduce the resulting water savings to the environment. The program neglects infrastructure to make water systems even more efficient for irrigation, allowing for the recovery of additional water for the environment. In 2007, the Australian government announced a national water safety plan. Significant investments of more than $13 billion support these reforms for irrigation modernization and water recovery. The Bureau of Meteorology is responsible for collecting and providing water information throughout Australia. These include the creation of a national water account and the collection and publication of water information. The Intergovernmental Agreement on the Implementation of Water Reform in the Murray Darling Basin (IGA) is a commitment by the Australian government and the Murray Darling Basin governments to implement water reforms that further improve the health of the basin and ensure a future for its communities. Part 7 of the IGA requires the Australian government to provide financial support to basin countries through the National Partnership Agreement for the Implementation of Water Reform in the Murray-Darling Basin (NPA).

The Department of Agriculture, Water and Environment is responsible for policy direction and program implementation, particularly investments in the Commonwealth Water Recovery Strategy and the National Partnership Agreement for the Implementation of the Murray Darling Pelvic Plan. The Commonwealth Environmental Water Holder (CEWH) manages, plans and monitors a large portfolio of water for the benefit of the environment. Basin states also have an important role to play in water management through their national legislation, which is outside the requirements of the pelvic plan.